The Life Of Sue

If you enjoy reading interesting and sometimes funny Australian stories then you’ve come to the right place. Welcome!

Click a blue hyperlink and have a read.

 

Grief Train.  My personal journey of miscarriage, recovery and the lingering feelings of loss.

Neurology.   My children’s lives were snatched away, changed and given back to them in a package none of us recognised.  Identity isn’t always as fixed as we’d like it to be.

A True War Story.  This story is a peek into a Vietnam Veteran’s personal story.

Torture, arranged marriage and recovery.  Tortured in a prison cell for years, and then free – but never quite free.

Love: A Beautiful Magnet.    This is how love felt for me. I wonder if it’s how love feels for everyone?

Seeking Love: My First Date.  At 48 yrs old I went on the second “first date” of my life.

Finding Love: How To Handle First Dates  First dates – what to expect, what to do.

** Seeking Love: Ten months into dating.  The good looking people I dated were cold hearted so began my search for an ugly person who might have developed a heart of gold.

Seeking Love: Success And Humour.   Some of my great dating experiences and copies of some hilarious dating profiles I’ve seen.

Dating: Stay Exclusive or Spread It Around?  The men who secretly date lots of women at once so they can pick the best of the bunch… if they can give the others up.

Online chat rooms – smoke and mirrors. Ever wondered what happens in online chat rooms?

**The Day I Was On The News!  A totally unpredictable outcome on the day my town was flooded and I tried to help.  I was scarred for years!

**The Dead Guy.     An ungrateful and nasty dead guy who we revived.

The Power of Men.  The invisible cultural messages about the power of men over women.

A Jewish Funeral.  Attending a Jewish funeral that chilled me to the bone.

My Just Desserts.  Childhood story:  The street bully had me cornered and Mum took the bullet for me.

This Is What Rain Does To Me.  Childhood Story:  Memories of a rainstorm during my childhood and the impact it has on me now, when I hear rain.

I am… Nature & Nurture   Childhood story: The variety of role models I was exposed to during my childhood shaped me into the person I am today.

Looking For My Inner Child.   Being childish is okay.

Death and dying.  Saying goodbye to our beautiful Newfoundland dogs.

My Final Letter to My Grandma.    Read at my grandmother’s funeral.

Aunty Joy’s Australian Stories.    Older people have fascinating histories.

Identity: Am I good enough?   Practical tips for getting through life with the confidence to feel as if you belong just as the person you are.

DAS: A Bank Robber, Drug Addict, Ex-Con, Survivor.  The story of survival from neglected and abused child to drug addict, bank robber, prisoner and now survivor.

I lost my best friend of 42 years.  I lost my best friend of 42 years to her mistaken belief that I’d betrayed her. I thought we knew one another as we’d grown up together and had gone through every joy and pitfall of our lives together – I found out we didn’t know one another very well at all.

Cancer   … and the doctor whispered into the phone, “I don’t want to leave the mamogram until Monday, this lump looks more urgent than that – please squeeze her in tomorrow!”

When Bad Things Happen.   Why do shitty things happen to good people?

Violence: A Little Bit Is Not Okay.   Our behaviours and attitudes are passed down to our kids.

Children… excuses, excuses, excuses.  The life of a teacher amongst the inventive excuses of children who just don’t feel like doing their school work.

Word of the day: ‘Purpose’    A challenge to write about the word: ‘Purpose’.

Word Of The Day: “Childhood”  A challenge to write about the word: ‘Childhood’

Daily Prompt: Shiver  A challenge to write about the word:  ‘Shiver’.

Author: The Life Of Sue

I live by the sea in the Australian state of Victoria. My life hasn't been very extraordinary, however I seem to have a way of looking at my life events that makes them seem a little sensational. This is because I enjoy words and I cherish the art of storytelling. Painting a picture of my life experiences for others to share is relaxing and fun. Although these things really happened to me, I usually change names to protect the privacy of others; and there are many stories that will never be told on this forum. I believe I could write a story a day for the rest of my life - I'd never run out of things to write. See all my stories at www.thelifeofsue.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “The Life Of Sue”

Leave a Reply

