Word of the day: ‘Purpose’

Purpose

This is my first attempt at responding to the prompt word of the day: Purpose.

The smooth, roundness of each letter makes ‘purpose’ look deceptively innocent as pronunciation can either be gentle and inquiring or a roughly shouted demand.  Say the word ten times and it sounds ridiculous – which may be a clue to the fact it is a ridiculous noun.  Our search for purpose can be distracting from other, more constructive thoughts.  My curious nature pushes me to question the purpose in the choices I make, in why things happen the way they do and why am I here?!  Questioning these things might be chasing a rainbow.

Hindsight gives great answers to purpose: “My car broke down, making me late, which meant I missed falling into the sinkhole.”  Foresight is also great: “I will go back to school and get qualifications so that I can earn a better living.” These are unhelpful reasons and forward planning.

The question is out there: Does my drive to find ‘the purpose’ really serve a purpose?

Today I apply purpose to the question of life in general. The purpose of an ant is to feed a lizard, which feeds a snake, which feeds an eagle, which feeds a bear – no, this isn’t getting anywhere at all.  The purpose of a child is to grow into an adult and have their own child and then the grandchild grows to have their child…. again, this is a cycle, not a purpose.  Surely staying alive isn’t our purpose as this begs the question: What’s the purpose of life?

The most common and simple of explanation of purpose is always external.  A God or spirit is usually involved and we are the unknowing vessels of our soul.  In this light, our purpose is to serve the higher good of our soul by improving our lives and helping others.  An internal explanation is often added as many believe that our purpose is to achieve spiritual enlightenment as we climb the ladder of higher planes in our afterlife.

Next is to question the purpose of the afterlife; which I won’t find answers to until I get there and I’m in no rush.

Finding purpose is chasing a rainbow.

 

(“pur-pose” source: http://m.c.lnkd.licdn.com/mpr/mpr/p/2/005/08b/049/3c7aba3.jpg)

Author: The Life Of Sue

I live by the sea in the Australian state of Victoria. My life hasn't been very extraordinary, however I seem to have a way of looking at my life events that makes them seem a little sensational. This is because I enjoy words and I cherish the art of storytelling. Painting a picture of my life experiences for others to share is relaxing and fun. Although these things really happened to me, I usually change names to protect the privacy of others; and there are many stories that will never be told on this forum. I believe I could write a story a day for the rest of my life - I'd never run out of things to write. See all my stories at www.thelifeofsue.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “Word of the day: ‘Purpose’”

  1. I love your interpretation of this word prompt! 🙂 Very insightful to point out how cycles are moving and constant, and that cycles do not actually provide purpose. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers Valerie! I really had no idea how to attack this so began with looking up the definition. Everything else just fell out of my fingers as one thought led to the next. That’s the fun of writing – it makes me aware of my thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Soma, I appreciate your feedback. You may also like this one, which was my first blog last Sunday, as it has similar sort of social and emotional insights.
      “Sometimes we dread going to a social situation because we fear we don’t belong. We’re not good enough. Somebody might notice that we don’t belong. Here’s what to do…”

      https://thelifeofsue.wordpress.com/2016/05/29/identity-who-am-i-am-i-good-enough/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

